Product Review—Madam C.J. Walker


Hola peeps!  Loooooonnnnnnngggg time, no post…I’ve missed you guys!  There has been so much going on in my life that I just needed a break from it all.  However I’m going to do my best and try to get back into the swing of things.  Although I’m not sure how often these posts will happen but best believe SNC is never forgotten so please enjoy for now until I return to normalcy 🙂

The other day I was in Sephora searching for Bite’s Amuse Bouche new lipstick colors which they didn’t have (I went to 3 locations!!!), I was so upset!  However I digress and save that for a later post, however I eventually got over it when I stumbled upon the new Madam C.J. Walker line.  I saw on Instagram (follow me @sassncurlz) that they released a new line but totally forgot about it, so I was happy to see it in store.

I tested out Jamaican Black Castor Oil & Murumuru Oils Loosen and Stretch Gel on a few of my strands.  The gel wasn’t too sticky or runny  and provided a nice hold; however I noticed that the scent was a bit strong but that didn’t stop me from buying it and the Defining Butter Creme.  I left Sephora a happy product junkie and went about my day!

image

The next day I washed, conditioned and even gave myself a protein treatment.  Next I was ready to styled my tresses with the gel.  I worked it in with my fingers from the roots to ends and let it air dry.  Everything was going along great until I noticed that the scent got stronger, so much so that I developed a migraine!  At first I tried to ignore it but I couldn’t take it anymore, it was as if I had poured perfume on my head.  I took a Motrin and laid down, then an hour later I washed my hair again to get rid of the smell!  I’m sorry but this is a no go and I’ll be returning these to Sephora.  Since that happened I will not be trying the Defining Butter Creme which disappoints me because I really wanted to like these products.  Oh well I will stick with what works.

If you are curious about the ingredients see below:

Water, Polysorbate 20, Glycerin (Vegetable), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter*+, Astrocaryum Murumuru Seed Butter, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein PG-Propyl Silanetriol, Urtica Dioica Leaf Extract, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Althaea Officinalis Root Extract, Unum Usitatissimum (Linseed) Seed Oil, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (Coconut Oil), Coco-Glucoside, Hydrolyzed Keratin, Algin, Chitosan, Gellan Gum, Sodium Hydroxide, Acrylates/Cl0-30 Alkyl Acrylate Copolymer, Sodium Phytate, Sodium Benzoate, Fragrance (Essential Oil Blend).

Although the scent didn’t agree with me it did provide my curlz with great hold.  Take a peek at the results, excuse the blurry pic as this was the best I could do because my head was pounding at this point!

image

So there you have it, a quick review.  Have you tried these products, if so what are your thoughts?  Oh and give me feedback on what you would like to see on SNC upon its return.

Thanks for hanging with me and stay tuned for more posts!

Sound Off Peeps...what do you think?